Why I don’t celebrate mother’s day

Did you ever realise how Advertisers never let the Mother’s Day occasion pass us by,  it’s everywhere, on the boards, radio, telly, the internet and every shop that you enter! Even FNB advised that one should send their mother gifts via e-wallet services.  Advertisers are so persuading in a hilarious way, yet the methodology is exasperating too. 

The previous weekend was Mother’s day.  You should have seen how my social media bombarded with mother’s day posts! On the other hand, maybe yours was also fuelled with every Tom, Dick, and Harry showing off their mothers and all. 

I see how Mother’s Day is so special to almost everyone, except me.  I haven’t showed off my mother to anyone, it was no extraordinary day to me, I have been jealous or let me say envious of every person uploading pictures or statuses praising their mothers. Nothing out of the ordinary, but just one of those irritating and disheartening days in one’s life.  I do not hate the concept of Mother’s Day but I abhor how that day affects me.

So why don’t I celebrate mother’s day?  I have been trying to find reasons why I should finally start celebrating mother’s day but haven’t exactly found plenty to celebrate and be grateful for. 

According to Wikipedia, Mother’s Day is a celebration honouring the mother of the family, as well as motherhood, maternal bonds, and the influence of mothers in society. It is celebrated on various days in many parts of the world, most commonly in the months of March or May. It complements similar celebrations honouring family members, such as Father’s Day, Siblings Day, and Grandparents Day.

I have been reading articles on reasons to thank your mother too, on which most are contained in  ‘40 Reasons to Thank your Mom‘  but I have only found one of any value or to me worth appreciating at all. 

I knew since childhood that not every woman that gives birth could be a mother. You could disagree with me a million times but I have encountered enough in life to come to that conclusion.  If a mother can abandon her child, then childbearing does not determine a mother. I don’t have enough reasons to tell you that I appreciate a mother, because I couldn’t see one, neither a mother figure.  I grew up minding my own business, tucking myself into bed and putting up with crap and finding my own way out of the puzzle. 

I have no mother-memories… At least good memories to link to a mother. No connection and mostly actual real love ceased to exist.  She does not know what I like, which is writing of course, neither my favourite food, which is now known by my readers as chilli bites. Perhaps she could get me some if she ever get hold of this blog.

Mother’s day makes me emotional to the point that if I was president I would remove Mother’s day from the Calendar. That’s how Mother’s Day shambles with my mood and conflicts my heart. 

Maybe one day, the woman who is my mother might remember the girl she left behind one day, then that might be a day to begin something new for us, a day for all Mums truly. 

11 thoughts on “Why I don’t celebrate mother’s day

  1. inspiredGrisele says:

    It is okay to not see reasons but to me it goes beyond and “Push”. It is about the female friend, teacher that gave you a hug when u needed or cried n laugh with you. I celebrate the push mothers and those on the way like you but flaunting pictures is kinda cliche to me. stay blessed. you are loved

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

